A Spring Break Well Spent!

My Spring Break involved the APPLES program here at UNC Chapel Hill. I was enrolled in a service learning class which prepared me for a service trip.

As the APPLES Website shares:

APPLES Service-Learning is a student-led program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that transforms educational experiences by connecting academic learning and public service. Since 1990, APPLES has strengthened civic engagement by bringing together students, faculty and communities in sustained and mutually beneficial partnerships. APPLES offers a variety of programs, including alternative breaks, service-learning initiative, internships, courses and fellowships.

The highlight here is the alternative break. I was opportune to get into the APPLES service learning course this Spring 2015. I learned, and I’m still learning a lot from this class, about service learning. During the spring break, it was time to bundle-up all the knowledge acquired during the class and make it practical.

I met great people with whom I ventured to the “Rural Communities”  to make visible the love in my heart through service; for indeed, service is love made visible.

Moving from community to community and meeting different community partners, I got to learn a lot about the communities. Of course, that was the vehicle through which I could learn the community and provide the service in a noble way.

The service experience was phenomenal but it was coupled with a lot! I mean a lot of fun with the awesome people I had as peers. The spring break was worthwhile – it’s been my best spring break so far. I can’t help but to think about the joy and excitement there is in giving “the gift of yourself.”

I strongly recommend APPLES service learning experience, or any other service opportunities available. There’s always a need for help somewhere somehow, find it (them), and give the gift of yourself.

– Written by Smith Ngeve
APPLES ASB – 2015

Leave a comment